Blue Hour Photo Workshops

Photography is a constant travel to new places

Gifted Students

Finding Your Voice_8

Me and my 12 students are well underway in the first eWorkshop of mine, «Finding Your Photographic Voice», which was launched earlier this year. It’s been a really fun process working with this concept. I have simply enjoyed looking at a whole range of excellent photos by the participants. I think it’s safe to say that photographically they are quite different and their skills are spread through all levels. But all of them have been able to show interesting and engaging work. More importantly I see a strong progression in all their work – of course more for some and a little less for some, particularly those already starting out as more accomplished photographers in the first place.

The workshop runs over eight weeks and we have already passed more than half way through it. At the moment each participant is working on her or his personal project which they will continue with until the end of the workshop. I really look forward to seeing how they will pull their projects together as coherent photo essays. As mentioned I have really taken pleasure in seeing so much good work, and I have surely spend more time that I should have in the picture critique of each participant’s work each week. But what can I say? When you enjoy doing something, why not do it? That is the fundamental in the creative process, no matter what we do. Giving constructive and useful critique is in itself of great value to me.

For me, personally, it was also very encouraging to notice that after I had launched the workshop it was fully booked within two days. On the other hand it was of course less satisfying for those who tried to apply for the workshop after it was indeed full. In the end I opened up for more participants than I had first intended, but still quite a few was left out of this first workshop. I can only reassure you with saying that more workshops will come. Having 12 students in this kind of eWorkshop turned out to be a little more than preferable, simply because I have had to allocate too much of my time needed for other work. I have used late evenings and sometimes nights to get through with the picture critique. Again when it’s fun it doesn’t really matter. But for future workshops I think I will limit them to eight participants. That seems to be an ideal number of students.

Under here I showcase examples of work from the participants of this first eWorkshop. I hope you enjoy the images as much as I have.

© Dalia Daud

© Dalia Daud

© Can Ozdemir

© Can Ozdemir

© Lynne Hayes

© Lynne Hayes

© Regine Lord

© Regine Lord

© Linda Paul

© Linda Paul

© Christopher O'Keefe

© Christopher O’Keefe

© Susan Judd

© Susan Judd

© Angeline Munoz

© Angeline Munoz

© Andrea Cochran-Pastel

© Andrea Cochran-Pastel

© Phil Vaughn

© Phil Vaughn

© Anita Otrebski

© Anita Otrebski

© Monica Engell

© Monica Engell

4 Comments»

  suej wrote @

Very pleased you decided to launch the eWorkshop, Otto, and am thoroughly enjoying participating. I find it an informative and challenging process!

  Otto von Münchow wrote @

As you know I believe in challenges. And of course I am happy you are enjoying the workshop. Thanks, Sue.

  sixdegreesphotography wrote @

When I signed up, I had no idea if I would be able to keep up. As a very new person to picture taking, I felt very intimidated by my meager skills & vision. You are a great teacher and I have already learned so much and will continue to develop as a photographer due to some of the skills taught.
Thank you for allowing me to learn & grow with this group. I shall miss it when it’s finished .

  Otto von Münchow wrote @

I am happy you feel like you have learned something from this workshop. I think you are very talented and with time you will develop a strong voice.


Leave a Reply

